• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Question about pump failure.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Laytech

Registered
hey Guys,

Listened to the ocf podcast on watercooling earlier this week and I think it was Scott that mentioned he was using 2 pumps and 2 rads. Im very new to watercooling and I could see his logic in running a redundancy setup but I was thinking wouldn't it be easier to have a cut-out on the system should your pump fail? Rather then forking out on 2 pumps and 2 rads and the hassle of fitting them.

Are there products out there that do this or have people modded one of these setups? Im putting together a system atm and watercooling seems like a lot of fun but pump failure scares me even if I am running a good pump etc.

First post w00t!

Im very new to watercooling and I could see his logic in running a redundancy setup but I was thinking wouldn't it be easier to have a cut-out on the system should your pump fail? Rather then forking out on 2 pumps and 2 rads and the hassle of fitting them.
:welcome: to the forums!!!! :D:D

Not sure exactly what you're asking. Do you mean instead of having two pumps for redundancy, you want to put them in parallel? :eh?:

Hi Thideras - thank you, gd to be here.

I mean I just want to have 1 pump and 1 rad and if 1 should fail, my system would switch off using a cut-out method. As scott mentioned in the podcast he used 2 of each which made me think if there was another way round it?

Hi Thideras - thank you, gd to be here.

I mean I just want to have 1 pump and 1 rad and if 1 should fail, my system would switch off using a cut-out method. As scott mentioned in the podcast he used 2 of each which made me think if there was another way round it?
I don't know of anything that would do that.