• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

will a car rad rely work?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
Ive seen it done. It is a little over kill ofcourse, but everything is on this site. I wonder how the flow through that rad is.

--pak

that would work but the size of the hose would have to be scaled down dramatically to flow through the water block, so the flow would SUCK. Heater cores are your best friend.

I never understood that.. Afterall PC radiators are so restrictive going with a larger diameter radiator (there for less heat transfer effective) but much less restriction that the hose transfer size should not matter.

But im no hydrodynamic scientist like many of the WCers here.

I would say dont use the car rad just because its not as effiicent though...(although a box fan would be better then 3 or 4 120mms ;))

lol i have just bught my first wc kit a Swiftech H20 APEX Ultra just looking at some other parts lol if u did have 9 120mm fans on that wow i would of thort that that would be the best i might be rong it comes with hose adapters

im not sure theres a w/c pump for that kind of radiator, you would lose too much pressure vs. what you gain in cooling.

a bong is a much better overkill idea

Exactly what I was thinking...I think that you would never get the flow you needed without a pump that was as dramatic as the radiator.......

You need to check with the seller to see if the rad is copper core or not. If it is aluminum, don't get it.

I watercooled with a copper core car rad for almost a year passively and it worked well. My temps were exactly the same running it passively as running a BIXIII with 6 yate loons on it at 7v ea.

That rad is a bit larger than the one I used, but there is no reason why with a decent pump like an MCP655 or MCP355 with petras top won't work well.