• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6 Memory/Bios Settings

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Fakum

Registered
I am building a new Gaming PC, I have a
Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6 Mobo
Crucial Ballistix 4 GB (4 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
Q6600 Go stepping CPU
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0

I can already tell from browsing thru the bios settings that the memory timings are not what they are supposed to be, which is 4-4-4-12 @ 2.2 volts. So I went through the mobo manual, and I see more settings then I have specs for. I am not CLEAR as to what to set these at. Here is a list of settings available in the bios. There are more than this of course, I am just getting into this, so if you can add more advise, please do so.

System memory multiplier
Memory Frequency (Mhz)
High Speed DRAM DLL Settings Option 1 or 2 (manual not to clear on this)
DRAM Timing selectable (Auto or 3-6)
CAS Latency Time (Auto or 3-6)
DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay (Auto or 1-15)
DRAM RAS# PreCharge (Auto or 1-15)
Precharge delay (tRAS) (Auto or 1-31)
ACT to ACT Delay (tRRD) (Auto or 1-15)
Rank Write to Read Delay (Auto or 1-31)
Write to PreCharge Delay (Auto or 1-31)
Refresh to Act Delay (0-255)
Read to PreCharge Delay (Auto or 1-15)
tRD (Auto or 1-31)
tRD Phase Adjustment (Auto or 1-31)
System Voltage Control (Auto or Manual) Im sure I set this to manual so I can set the memory volts too 2.2
DDR2 OverVoltage (Im sure this is where I will bump up the default memory voltage, whatever that is, to 2.2v per memory spec.

I will make another post I think as to the other settings like the CPU etc. Thanks for any feedback

I will make another post I think as to the other settings like the CPU etc. Thanks for any feedback