• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

8 overclocking questions with P35 DS3L

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Raizy

1. Does the PCI (NOT PCIe) lock when overclocking?

2. I'm a newb at overclocking, does IDE lock too? (I'm not sure if IDE clock speeds even exist)

3. How common is the problem when the BIOS settings gets reverted back to defaults after cold booting? What causes that problem?

4. At 1333 max FSB, quad pumped would be a max FSB of 333, right? Does this mean I can use a 333Mhz FSB setting without increasing the FSB's voltage (except the CPU if overclocking)?

5. In the manual, I noticed there is FSB and (G)MCH overvoltage controls. Okay, as far as I know the FSB overvoltage is obvious, but the Northbridge? How do I know when I have to increase the voltages on it, or should I just leave it alone in?

6. SMART fan, disable or enable? Or personal preference?

7. C1T and EIST, after a stable overclock has been tested, enable them both again? If not both, one of them and if so, which one and why?

8. Any other settings I should look out for?

1)it is locked

2) see #1

3)reverting umm never had that problem...

4)thats currently the highest fsb for a stock cpu. that does not mean the highest fsb the board can do. it does mean you can oc to that from something lower on stock motherboard voltages. that does not include cpu voltage or dimm voltage.

5)you normally have to increase the MCH when the overall system is unstable. meaning you stress the cpu and its good, same thing with the ram. as when taxing the whole system increasing mch helps rid of errors. the high fsb's over 400-425 tend to need the mch increased. it might be earlier with quads but i cant say for sure since i dont have one.