• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

help - water/coolant solution & cleaning

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

unfortunate

Hey guys I'm new to OC Forums, but I have read many posts here about water-cooling and many other topics related to PCs. I finally found myself in a situation where I think your opinions would help me..

I have a Thermaltake Tai-Chi LCS (Liquid Cooling System) case, which at the time I didn't know much about water cooling.. but the pump had finally given up on me and I think have sprung a leak somewhere, which caused some damage to my video card =(

I've already ordered some parts to replace the water cooling system and I was wondering if you guys could provide some input =)

Tubing: 3/8" (I think it would be 3/8" ID & 1/2" OD tubing.. please correct me if I'm wrong!), but I'm sure it's 3/8" =X
Radiator: Swiftech MCR220
Reservoir: Swiftech MCRES-MICRO
Pump: Swiftech MCP350
Water block: Swiftech APOGEE GT

I was wondering what are your recommendations for (1) a good water/coolant solution (2) and the best way to clean the water cooling system when the time comes..

I originally thought that the Swiftech HydraX is a good coolant, but I read some reviews and it was either good or bad.. Is Swiftech HydraX + 10% distilled water a good coolant solution?

What I observed since the leak was there had some small bits of "residue" stuck in the walls of the tubing which came with my case. I only used the supplied coolant from Thermaltake. I'm not sure how frequent I should have flushed the system..