• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New Build need critique/advice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

malius

Okay I've been piecing together a new build for a couple of months now and I'm finally at the point where I want to lay down the money on the hardware.

My goal is to build a gaming system on Intel system based around the Q6600 CPU. I would like enough head room on the motherboard to upgrade to a Penryn in the future and also possible SLI. I was also shooting for RAM speeds in the region of DDR2 1066. I do want to OC the rig and my upper price limit is around $1400 total. Keep in mind that I have PSU,HDD, Optical and peripherals already.

Here is what I'm looking at so far from Newegg:

Antec P182 Case
$139.99
EVGA 132-CK-NF78-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI ATX Intel
$299.99
EVGA 512-P3-N841-A3 GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3
$339.99
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz
$260.00
Kingston HyperX 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) $89.99
Windows Vista 64-Bit Ultimate
$189.99
ZALMAN 9500A 92mm 2 Ball CPU Cooler $48.99
Subtotal: $1,369

It seems to me now might not be the right time to buy. I've read about the nForce 790i or the x48 coming out soon. There also seems to be an issue with the 680i based boards supporting above DDR2 800.

My time frame is flexible (1 week - 3 months).

Advice and constructive opinions are welcomed.

I agree that you should go with an Intel board unless you will be going SLI for sure.

Also I'd go with this RAM instead:
Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model BL2KIT12864AA804 - Retail

It'll OC just as high as that HyperX and it'll save you a bit of money even if you don't turn in the mail in rebate. if you do then you're only paying $50!