• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Custom built case, new to watercooling

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Navig

Senior Case Master
Hi all,

I'm considering building my next scratch built case for watercooling.

I am completely new to watercooling, so I appreciate any suggestions.

Here are my freehand sketches for my concept:

A sort of see-thru view:

Dualradcase6.jpg

This one shows my general layout of watercooling parts. I was planning on 2 complete separate loops. One for the cpu (possible northbridge), and one for the gpu.

Here is a more surface view:

Dualradcase4.jpg

As you can see, this is going to be a double-wide case.

Here are some 2d top-down views:

Dualradcase3.jpg

And some 2d sideways views:

Dualradcase2.jpg

Dualradcase1.jpg

What do you think?

Do you think dual 2x120 radiator setup will be sufficient cooling for hi end components?

Do you think I could get away with one pump and series the loop?

Recommendations on the radiators?

Recommendations on the pumps?

As for aesthetics, I'm planning on building a complete "exoskeleton" like frame from 3/4" aluminum square tube (brushed), with inset bronze tinted acrylic panels (like so).

Thanks for any suggestions,

navig

Hmmm, I'd think 2x 2x120 RADS would be fine for that setup. Since a 2x120 would be fine for a CPU and also OK for a GPU. You really could get away with just a single loop and a 3x120mm RAD, but I guess that would throw off this whole idea. :shrug:

As for RAD/pump choices:
I'd say a good choice for RAD would be Thermochill PA120.2's (or a PA120.3)

For pumps a Swiftech MCP655 or Something like this for higher pressure:
Laing DDC w/ Petra'sTech DDCT-01s Top Combo