• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Water Cooling HELP! (thnx)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mdRx

I'm building a new computer - completely new to this whole "water cooling" idea, it sounds really "cool" and effective. I've been researching, and I am not a pro at building computers, but I know quite a bit.

Need some Help:

I don't want to spend a fortune on a video card so I have decided to go with 2 MSI 8500GT OCs and SLI them, and then maybe OC them further later on if needed.

(http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127295)

First of all, is this a decent setup for the price? Second of all, I've been having trouble finding a water block that can fit the GPU on these puppies, any pointers?

Any help would be appreciated,

-mdRx

Is this video card able to have a water block put onto it?

You'd be better off going with a single ATI 3850 or an 8800 GT. Once you factor in the cost of TWO water blocks, + ram sinks, it would be the sam eprice if not cheaper to go with the single card. And the single card will blow away an 8500 gt in SLI.

You'd be better off going with a single ATI 3850 or an 8800 GT. Once you factor in the cost of TWO water blocks, + ram sinks, it would be the sam eprice if not cheaper to go with the single card. And the single card will blow away an 8500 gt in SLI.

i second that.

though the swiftech MCW60 will fit the 8500GT, or should as it fits the 8600GT which has the same mounting holes i believe.

Okay, so I guess the concensus is fudge the 2 8500GT OCs (even though I've read these cards aren't bad for the price) and go with a higher end card such as the 8800GTS.