• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Most stable gaming mobo for E8400?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

CreasianDevaili

Hello everyone,

I am running into issues with my am2 setup, and due to me being paranoid about updating my bios without dual bios on my board I thinking of just going with intel this round.

I am not a oc'er. However I might dab alittle in it. Moderate at best.
I am a single graphic card user. Going with a nvidia 8800 GT 512.
I use a PSU, so I dont want to stress it out.
I have a Cooler Master Centurion 5, thinking of going Antec nine-hundred

I am looking for a stable gaming board. In the past i have went for the 80 dollar motherboards, and while I have been happy, this time I am fine with going in the 200 range if need be. I am a gigabyte fan personally, but open to all options right now.

Would like a mobo with good gaming performance.
Has high quality parts, and designed to handle long gaming sessions {heat}
Would like it to accept a e8400 out of box, if possible
Would like a pci-e 2.0 solution

I dont edit. I dont multi-task for crap. My idea of multi tasking is listening to my music while I forum surf like right now. I rarely tab out of my games. I dont rip or burn CD-R, and dont even own a DVD burner, but only a dvd drive. I like eye-candy in my games. I have completed 3 builds, all of which successful and still working to this day, first one being a amd Thunderbird. So I can work, and understand, complications.

I would greatly appreciate all of your possible solutions. I hope i gave enough information to make it easier, and stated my computer "habits" enough to help find a board right for me. I was looking at the gigabyte x38 board, DQ6 I believe, but I wanted to ask around first.

Thank you,
Creasian