• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking with x38-ds4 / E8400

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Coreyhm1

Ok, im new to these intel bios coming from amd.

I got up to 3.5ghz on stock voltage but orthos failed (figured it would)

I have the ram divider to 1:1 and everything that involved downclocking the cpu is disabled, manually set the PCIe to 100 (it might lock it on auto anyway :confused:), i tried 400x9 up to 1.28v (set in bios) and it wouldn't hardly make it into windows. Is there some weird setting im missing, i wouldn't think it would be that unstable at 1.28v @ 3.6ghz :-/

Ram settings are at 5-5-5-15 @ 2t (stock) @ 2.0v

Also, its hard to check temps in windows, but it looks like bios is reading it correct (~24*c idle)

Help a intel noob please! :)

Lock memory multiplier at or below rated memory speed.
Try disabling C1E and see what happens, it may work or not, it has interesting effect on my board though p35 ds3r
What are your load temps?

Lock memory multiplier at or below rated memory speed.
Try disabling C1E and see what happens, it may work or not, it has interesting effect on my board though p35 ds3r
What are your load temps?

Memory multi, i set to 1:1, 400fsb will be 400mhz (DDR2 800) stock speed. right?

I have C1E disabled and the others, can't be for sure on the load temps because of the way these 8400's are acting. But coretemp gives me ~50*c on load :confused:

I'm off to bed, ill be at it again in the morning.. so this thread better not die :mad: :p

Memory multi, i set to 1:1, 400fsb will be 400mhz (DDR2 800) stock speed. right?

I have C1E disabled and the others, can't be for sure on the load temps because of the way these 8400's are acting. But coretemp gives me ~50*c on load :confused: