• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

new to water cooling need help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

damien c

hey guys im new to the idea of watercooling but seen as i've oc'd my cpu to 3.00ghz, my mobo temp has rocketed. i also would like to cool my gpu's properly as there in my mind is not enough room for air cooling, when using my gpu's in sli.
now i don't know where to start but i need to water cool both my gpu's my nb and possibly my south bridge if it, is possible and would like some recommendations on what is going to be able to do this and at what cost. i Have been looking at this for about, a week and have posted on allot of forums but no one seems to want to help:bang head i would greatly appreciate any help provided.

I would get a nice swiftech water cooling kit and get some good thermalright heatsinks for the northbridge and southbridge :D

Reason is that the Motherboard chipset doesnt typically produce too much heat so aircooling will do.

Stay away from any kit except swiftech. Otherwise build your own by selecting components.

What is your budget like? What case?

EDIT: woah! almost forgot!

:welcome: to OCF!

Last edited:
Yeah, what Aja said. I would not watercool the N/B or S/B either since those blocks tend to restrict the loop.

I like Swifttech stuff, works great for me. Can't go wrong with the following: Apogee GT CPU block, MCP655 pump, MCRES-MICRO reservoir (or T-line), MCR220-QP 2X120mm radiator, and 8-10 feet of 7/16" or 1/2" tubing.