• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Tips for figuring out my limits?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Madz

Registered
First off im new to overclocking (ya ya i have been researching on google and reading around :D ) and I wanted to get some more experienced input on the matter. I just built a new system and I got everything with overclocking in mind. I want to know what is really the best hardware to get for cooling that will maximize my system while at the same time not really limiting my everyday use. Gimme some good tips (aside from search google :) ) and i know im a newb so dont flame me too hard.

Hardware specs:
MOBO: XFX 780i tri SLI
CPU: Intel E6750 Core 2 Duo
RAM: Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB DDR2 1200
GPU: SLi G92 GeForce 8800 GTS 512

optional hardware
750W HEC PSU
500GB SATA2 Seagate HDD

PS: im not looking to break records or anything I just want to maximize performance to the best i can while still being very stable.

Last edited:
Well it really all depends on your budget . We can Suggest very good Air Water and better cooling when we know how much we have to spend :)

For 500 you can have a nice water or Air setup and prob a used Single stage system for that price as well

it doesnt matter to me what i go with i just want to be able to overclock the system as much as i can while still keeping stability. this is kind of a learning experience for me lol

Well a water setup is somewhat complicated for a first timer, I mean you can do it, but I just stuck with air when I first got into OC'ing.

Might try water in my next rig.

Good air cooling is almost as good as water cooling, if you need a comparison.

When you get 100 posts you could hit up NoL, he does phase systems for around 450$

http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=369095