• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Maxtor RMA Department, Your Experiences?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

z0n3

I have a 200 gb drive I need to send in to Maxtor. Never sent one back to them before so I have no experience with their RMA department. The drive platters sound like they are not aligned anymore. Like they are on an angle or something. How likely am I to get the same drive back? There is some stuff on there I had not backed up elsewhere yet. Nothing terribly important but some info and chat logs I would hate to lose.

Also what is their turn around time?

I believe that Maxtor is part of Seagate, so it should be the same. I have personally never had to RMA a hard drive, as they have always outlasted the warranty for me.

Well seagate has treated me well before. Don't think I ever got the same drive back though.
I've RMA'ed quite a few drives. I've also bought more drives than the average person. Hopefully you will never have to RMA a drive but failures and DOAs do happen.

Things can happen, and I am sure that one day they will. The only reason that I prefer Seagate, is because I have heard nothing but good things about them. I did have some problems with WD drives failing right after the end of the warranty in the past, but I understand they have gotten a lot better. From what I have read, the WD drives are out performing Seagates, and are just as good if not better than Seagate with taking care of their customers. I have heard a lot of good things about Seagate RMA. You may ask them if there is a chance that you can get your same drive back.