• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Insulation products and techniques for Sub-zero cooling

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Dawgdoc

Heya guys.

Ive gotten a few PMs over the past few weeks about what products to use for subzero insulation and figured rather than keep typing the info out over and over again Id make a thread here and just send people over to it.

I am by no means an expert, but have poured a reasonable amount of LN2 over the past 6-8 months. There isnt anything special in this post its just a generic insulation resource for people who have not done this before and need something to get them started.

First off, if you have not reviewed it, the best guides for prep are at XS.

MOBO INSULATION GUIDE
- Some people also prefer a silicone conformal coating such as "Fine-L-Kote-SR" (available at www.mouser.com and other places) instead of the clear nail polish. Personally I use the nail polish but alot of ppl like the conformals as well.

GPU POT INSULATION
FYI I use Armaflex 1"-2" tape instead of the big sheets. I find it easier to apply and isnt nearly as thick. Ive got to believe k|ngp|n is currently doing it that way as well since when I purchased my Tek 9 3.0 from him just a few months ago he included the aforementioned armaflex tape :p

TEMP PROBE INSTALLATION
- This is one for GPU only I believe but the idea is the same for the CPU pots also.

Regarding the gray foam insulation mentioned, I use Frost King "duct insulation" which I have readily found at Home Depot

FrostKinglabel.jpg

Frostkinginsides.jpg

OBVIOUSLY DONT FORGET TO TAKE THE ALUMINUM BACKING OFF FIRST :p
Frostkingfoiloff.jpg