• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Vista 64-bit Motherboard Advise, Q9450 2.66GHz 12MB, PCIe2.0 8800GT 1GB SLI

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Time4aMassiveOC

hey guys, its about time for a new computer, so ive decided on my processor and my video card, and since vista 64 bit can adress all the memory it likes, and i have i have no sli experience, ive decided im going to get two of the 8800GT 1GB Palit video cards to tinker with. and 8 gigs of ram along with the Yorkfield Q9450 2.66GHz 12MB.

so im looking to get a p45 or x48 motherboard that has decent power regulation? not sure if thats the right term. but stuff that is along the lines of what this guy is talking about as well as the other considerations one makes for voltage and current regulation

16-phase power design can reach the power efficiency up to 96%+, and dispel heat generated by VRM module effectively, and lower more temperature compared to other VRM solution. With the high quality power components such as low RDS (on) MOSFETs, Ferrite core chokes with lower hysteresis loss and 100% Japan-made high quality conductive polymer capacitors, ASUS 16-phase VRM design also ensure longer component life, minimum power loss, and help to reach the superior overclocking score ever than before.

heres the video card im going to get
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814261012

and my processor
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115042

i also have a nice watercooling setup just sitting here not being used so i was wondering what kind of waterblock would fit the palit? will my present one work

i forget if its the low profile or high profile one but couldnt i use a high profile one on the second card and low one on the first?

http://www.silverprop.com/cyclonefusionhl.aspx