• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Is my 650i Ultra Motherboard the problem?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pinkyo

So I'm new to overclocking and I'm trying to figure out why I can't push my system like I've read I SHOULD be able to. Seems as though I can't even boot into windows without it resetting to defaults. I haven't yet tampered with Voltage much due to the heat risks, and because I have read that achieving 3.0 GHz with everything else set to auto (unlinking memory) is quite easy. And for now 3.0 GHz would be what I am shooting for.

This is so far what I have... hope I got it right. With these settings it runs fine and stable, but ANYTHING different or more and it either wont boot into windows without auto defaulting, or it will BSOD very soon after. Also it wont show any information/numbers while booting just "no signal" on monitor.

Main problem I know I have to watch is temps, and my stock heatsink more then likely needs to be replaced. Specially seeing that it gets fairly warm and humid (very humid) in my place. So far the Zalman CNPS9700 seems to be the most popular heatsink I come across in forums (specially on q6600's) so I'm looking at one of those. Although I am worried about the weight of the product as it is much heavier then recommended on my board.

System :
q6600 stepping b revision go
EVGA ultra 650i running bios 2.053.77(although cpu-z reports pheonix version 6.00pg)
windows xp Pro 32
G.SKILL DDR2 PC2 6400 (F2-6400CL5D-4GBPQ)
EVGA e-GeForce 9600 GT 512MB (OC'd to 752/1030/1864----GPU-Z... not even sure if I could push any of these numbers higher)
Rosewill 500W ATX12V Ver 2.2 PSU (Heard this may be a problem)
Stock Intel CPU fan (Also heard this needs to be replaced)