• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overcloking a Q6600 on a P5Q Deluxe

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

_D4VE_

Registered
CPU Bacth #- L804A687
Vid-1.325v
G0 Stepping

Hey guys, im pretty new to overclocking, usually just run my pc's stock. Just looking for some extra power without pushing this chip to the limit. I just dont know what to change in the BIOS. If anyone using this board that knows how to run the BIOS on this motherboard or some tips, id greatly appreciate it.

Easy first step is to increase the FSB some. You might do 3G with that CPU (FSB=333) with no other changes. Don't make one huge FSB change, divide it up into several steps. Test stability using something like Prime95.

Lots of variations beyond that first step. Second step would be to increase the CPU voltage when you've reached a FSB where the board is no longer stable.

Yea im running at 3.0 right now, what temps do you think are ok to stay at? Right now im at around 35*C on each core. Can i make the multiplier 400 and run 3.6 without voltage?

Good progress Dave!

Is the 35C under load, running Prime95? I would want the temps on or under 60C under load for 24/7 operation. You'll get some varying opinions on that (some will say higher) but that is mine.

I doubt you'll make 3.6G without more volts. You might make 3.2G. Try it and see, it all really depends on how lucky you were in the chip you got.

Adding a little voltage isn't that big a deal, it is the temps you want to watch to keep them at an acceptable level.

At this point you may want to go read the sticky over in the CPU forum (http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=515316). It'll provide more detail for you. Post questions in this thread or anywhere you think they fit.

Enjoy the 4th!!! Your little town helped start all this.