• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Everything you want to know about overclocking with a Gigabyte motherboard

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

samsonJS

Registered
Everything you want to know about overclocking with a Gigabyte P45 motherboard

Here's my attempt to give back to the community. I learned a lot here for my first OC and didn't even need to ask anything. Help me compile as much info as we can here.

I'm new to overclocking so I'm both learning what options are available and how this Award BIOS presents them compared to AMI (or whatever Asus boards use). Please chime in when you see something missing or incorrect. I appreciate all the input I can get!

My system:
Motherboard: Gigabyte EP45-DS3R, F8a BIOS
CPU: Intel Core 2 Q9450
Memory: Mushkin Ascent PC2-8500, 2x2GB
rest in my sig...

Last update: July 30, 2008, 8:55 PM

I'll cite settings for 3 clock speeds, when the settings differ:
1) 8x 440 = 3.52 GHz, prime stable for 9d18h45m
2) 8x 485 = 3.88 GHz, unlikely to be stable, but I'm getting close, 25 mins so far
3) 8x 500 = 4.0 GHz, my personal best, completely unstable, prime95 causes an instant BSOD

All these BIOS settings are in M.I.T. - Motherboard Intelligent Tweaker.

CPU Clock Ratio:
Stock: 8x (for the Q9450)
Mine: 8x
This multiplied by your clock speed gives your final cpu clock. Range is 6-8 for the Q9450. Mine is 8x... isn't everyone's q9450 at 8x?

Clock Chip Control

>>> Standard Clock Control

CPU Host Frequency (FSB clock):
Stock: 333MHz (for the Q9450)
Mine(1): 440MHz
Mine(2): 485MHz
Mine(3): 500MHz
No explanation necessary, is there? Push her as high as you can, especially if you only have an 8x multiplier. :)

>>> Advanced Clock Control

CPU Clock skew:
Stock: 0ps
Mine(1,2,3): 150ps