• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Polycold or Cryo-type cooling?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ninety-9 SE-L

I'm not really into extreme cooling or extreme overclocking, myself, but I was wondering.

I work in a lab that utilizes high-vac chambers. We use 2 different types of units to achieve high vac: Cryo pumps and Diffusion pumps. You can look them up if you don't know how they work, but the main point is that both use phase change to achieve very low temperatures.

The Diffusion pumps use a polycold unit that probably will get down to -150*C and the cyro pumps use hydrogen as a refrigerant to achieve about -268*C. I know the polycold could maintain that temperature, I'm not sure about the cryo, once introduced to a hot processor.

Anyhow, I'm just wondering if anyone has tried using a polycold unit or a hydrogen pump to achieve such temperatures on a more consistant basis.

it depends what kind of wattages they can handle costantly, my bet is they cant handly high wattages very well.

Actually they can. Polycold P100 is rated for about 500W at -130C.
These are large scale autocascading systems, and can be modified for CPU use, as far as cold air goes however (and some polycolds do produce that temperature nitrogen gas stream), it won't work due to most components becoming unusable at those temperatures.
It'll cost a thousand bucks easy to convert to a CPU unit, or even up to $10,000 depending on the polycold blend.

you will be the first to try... lets see some pictures!

Well, I'm not really into extreme cooling, I was just asking because I service these devices from day to day and I was curious.