• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

1st time poster...long time reader....need help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Rabidhilljack

Registered
Alright people, I've been reading posts on these forums for about 4-5 months now, but I've yet to make a post.

Today, I made a trip to my local B & M store (fry's) and purchased an Antec 1200 case (OMG its huge) and a Hard drive (500 gb WD). So, up until now i've been doing so much reading here and at anandtech, pcper.com, etc....

I'm ready to dive in head first and build my first PC. I've been working in the IT field for 5 years and am really excited to build a custom machine, overclock it, rip movies, and play games.

So, The processor I've chosen (but haven't ordered is an E8400 or E8500). I will go aftermarket cooling, but probably not right away. After the chip breaks in I'll work about aftermarket cooling of the air variety (maybe water one day...but I say crawl before you can walk).

I'm looking at picking up an EVGA 9800 GX2 for my graphics card. Originally I was looking at an ATI HD 4870 or A 9800 GTX+ (and then adding another)... but the wattage and heat tradeoff makes me want to spend more now instead of augmenting later.

So, if I want to go with a 9800 GX2 and use a Sata HDD and a Sata DVD/RW ..... what Mobo would you guys recommend. I know I have a huge case but I plan on adding an X-Fi card and possibly a wireless NIC for a short while until I run tons of cable through my new place.

I'm looking for good overclocking capability and a solid board with room for expansion. I've looked at a lot of boards and really don't know where to go. I'd say my maximum price point is $250, but i'd feel better about spending around $150.