• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

P35-DS3R POST Problem!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dagger.tail

Hi guys! This is my first time on this forum! As I am relatively new to overclocking, I was wondering if you guys could help me out a little .

Specs:
Intel C2D E6550 2.33 GHz w/ Zalman CPNS9700 LED
Corsair 2 x CM2X1024-6400 800 MHz
XFX 8800 GT 512 w/ Zalman fansink
Enermax 460W PSU

I can run it stable 400 MHz FSB with a 1:1 ratio with the DRAM. I tried OC'ing to 3.01 with 430 MHz and 860 MHz RAM. It booted up fine and returned no errors on Prime95 for 2.5 hours. I decided that I would try torture testing it next morning and did a last reboot. And in that reboot the motherboard didn't POST and reverted back to default setting. And anytime I tried overclocking it would revert to factory default settings and not save the OC. I was thinking that it might be the motherboard as MANY Gigabyte motherboards have reported this problem.

One forum said that if I disable the "Detect Legacy USB" then it will save. I tried that and it worked so right now I am on 2.80 GHz (400 MHz FSB).

So the question is: Is this a motherboard problem or is 3010/860 (CPU/DRAM) MHz OC taxing my PSU too much? Can a 460W PSU handle this OC?:confused:

Thanks for all your help and assistance.:)

460w is enough for that setup unless it is a garbage psu.

Try listing your bios OC settings.

Thanks meionm for replying!

My BIOS settings for the 3.01 GHz overclock is as follows:

PCI Express: 100 MHz
FSB: 430 MHz
System performance: Standard (lowered from Turbo for stability)
Memory timings: 5-5-5-18
Memory speed: 860 MHz
PCI-express overvoltage: default
North bridge and south bridge overvoltage: default (it's on manual and i haven't changed it)
RAM overvoltage: default