• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Am i making a good MOBO choice for my Q9550???

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

planet

im a newbie on this forum, but ive been a silent watcher and visitor for quite some time.

i am putting together a computer for work purposes.
it will be used for running design programs some of which are resource hungry (adobe photoshop, illustrator, dreamweaver, fireworks, premiere pro, soundbooth etc...etc).

with the recent price crash, ive bought a Q9550 because of its quad capabilities, and 12m cache.

ive been eyeing up the Asus P5Q deluxe motherboard for my new cpu to sit in.

the question is whether this is a good choice of board for my requirements?
are there any other boards that i should consider?

i would really like to have a go at OCing the setup to achieve 3.4ghz fully stable. i will have a decent cooler and memory (any recommendations welcome...but for size considerations they will be going into a lian li a16 case)

any advice/recommendations welcome. thanks

should be a great board for you. they are very nice. should be able to obtain you oc without a problem. of course there is other things out there to consider as well. i have a biostar tpower i45 that i am very happy with. plus its only $150 on new egg and has had some great reviews thus far. but anyways thats a real nice board and should achieve all your goals and then some.

thanks for the advice.
do you think that a board like the biostar would be more appropriate?
by going for a p5q....am i going overboard on the motherboard? :confused:

thx