• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Soyo P4S DRAGON Ultra?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Gimps

I was looking into building a new system with the Northwood chips later this year(Once they come down in price a little). I was wondering if this mobo will be compatible with the Northwood chip, as it is a S478 mobo. I read in some places though that Northwood chips will have a higher FSB and I'll have to overclock just to get the specs to normal? Any info about the new chip or the features I can expect with this mobo would be appreciated.

Soyo P4S Dragon w/P4 2.00a Northwood

FIRST, let me say that I'm hoping to gather advice and tips, and to share any overclocking experiences (good or bad).

OK... I'm new to overclocking. Been building my own systems since 1987, but I always heeded warnings & hard luck stories of overclocking, until now (Fen 9 2001). Since I'm "green" to overclocking, I'll probably provide too much detail at first, but here it comes...

Here's the details: I (along with two other friends) recently decided to upgrade, and picked up new Soyo Dragon Ultra P4S (P4SX to be exact) motherboards & Intel P4 2.00a Northwood's (retail NOT). This motherboard has what seems to be an overwhelming abount of BIOS options (rev 2AA3) related to performance tweaking and overclocking.

I've not had much luck. I've tried probably 6 or 7 different combinations since yesterday. Some seem to work, but the system will not warm restart. Some just lock me up all together. I have not upped voltage levels on anything, since I have only a standard "Volcano" air-cooled CPU fan & heatsink with the standard issue thermal ooze between CPU & sink.

Other [INTERNAL ONLY] details on the system -