• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

P5N32-e SLI Good?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
it will be ok with the high multi on the E8500. it is iffy you may get 4ghz, i would expect to see 3.6ghz no problem though. if you own the board give it a shot if you buying a board look at another one...

Thanks, Board was brand new and free so ill be using it, thanks. Could this board be the reason my E8500 is giving me high temperature???

no it wouldnt be, some cpus have thermal probes that do not correctly register idle temps. what kind of temps are you seeing and did you use coretemp 99.3?

ok well I have this setup:

So I have an E8500 with an Asus p5n32-e sli mobo. I have a coolermaster cm sphere cooler, 1 120mm exaust fan, 2 80 mm intake fans in the front and one pci cooler. Im using an Earthwatts 500W power supply, 750GB Seagate, GeForce 8800GTX and 2GB of RAM.

Im from cali and its summer time so it gets pretty hot in my room during the day, while its hot, if I run prime 95 my max core temps, read from realTemp, hit about 65 C at max, and this is not running for longer than 30 mins. At night when it is much cooler they top out at about 61 C.

I did notice that coretemps and everest show about 7 - 10C higher than realtemps becuase of the tjmax.

any and all help is appreciated

what brand/model ram?

as for your temps its highly possible bad contact to the HS to cpu IHS. other then that i would venture to say its dusty on the hs or in the case. other things would be to work on the airflow thru the case. what case do you have?

Ram is patriot PC2-6400 800MHz 2x1GB.

Brand spankin new HSF so thats not the issue, case is very lightly dusted but all componets inside are brand new.

HSF gets pretty hot so its not a contact ussue either.

The case is a coolermaster Centurion 5....