• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

DRAM Frequency [ASUS Rampage Extreme]

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tehfrr

Registered
Can someone please help me understand this DRAM frequency? This is my first attempt at seriously changing things around in my bios and overclocking, Ive searched and read stickies but Im still not clear on this.

Anyways... Heres my current hardware:
Motherboard: ASUS Rampage Extreme
RAM: Mushkin DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) 2x 2Gb 7-7-6-18 CAS Lat. 7
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 - 2.83GHz at 1333MHz (E0 stepping)

Now I went into the bios and set the overclock to the QX9770 setting, and in CPUZ i have the following results posted below.

aaaks6.jpg
bbbnv4.jpg
cccww7.jpg

My DRAM frequency on CPU Z says 506.7 so is this over (1600/4=400) or elsewhere I read you should use a 1:1 FSB:DRAM ratio (giving only 380). So is my system under-performing with respect to my RAM? Or am I pushing it kind of hard? Or is it right about where it should be?

On a side note, the rampage extreme has the voltages waaay high straight out of the box. even with my current overclock the CPU and northbridge are running significantly cooler than they were on stock speeds and out of the box voltage settings.

I wish I would have tried overclocking sooner, running prime95 and so far all is well!

Edited to add: another thing strange to me CPUZ only shows RAM in the slot #2, and #4 as empty (SPD tab). My RAM is in #2 and #4, what gives?

Last edited: