• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Building a rig, should I use 780i (DDR2) or 790i(DDR3)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dim1014

Hey guys, I'm kind of new to all of this so I apologize of some of what I write isn't clear and thank you in advance for reading and helping me. I am building a new computer and have encountered a dilemma. Here's some background.

Q9650 / Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (haven't decided on fan yet, any suggestions?)

EVGA GTX 280 FTW Edition

CM690 Case

The dilemma I am having is whether I should get the EVGA 780i FTW board and get 8 gb (4x 2 gb) DDR2 800 OCZ ram, or for about 150$ more get a 790i FTW Digital board with probably 4gb of OCZ ram. I want my system to be as efficient as possible for gaming and such, and to provide possibility for further upgrades. It seems like DDR3 has not hit its potential yet so I'd be better off getting the 780i and having 8 gb of ram. Also I know the new processors that are coming out (Nehalem) won't even support LGA775 boards so maybe it doesn't even matter what I get because to do next gen upgrades a new board would be needed anyway? (if I were to ever upgrade my cpu)

Would the 780i bottleneck me in any way? (considering the graphics card and processor I am getting?).

If I wanted to overclock the Q9650 from 3.0 ghz or 3.6 ghz (400 mhz fsb), would I be able to do that without a hassle on a 780i? (considering DDR2 800 ram is also 400 mhz and the board supports that?) From what I can I see, with air cooling, a 790i board would be overkill because I wouldn't even be able to overclock high enough to make use of its increased FSB, am I right?

And lastly, what do you guys think of this setup? Any comments/suggestions are welcome.

Thanks in advance for the help, I really appreciate it.

Motherboard