• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

GA-EP45-UD3R == :(

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

xptical

Registered
Hi all,

I have some bad experiences with my new MoBo.

First off, it will sometimes hang before the BIOS when rebooting. I have to power the system off and restart it to get it to boot.

Second, it seems to be ignoring any attempt to overclock. I have locked the PCI to 100mhz. I have manually set the RAM to 5-5-5-12 and (G)MCH to 400mhz. Performance Enhance is standard.

SMM is set to auto right now. None of the other settings (2.00D, 2.66D, 3.33D) seem to give me the right frequency (400mhz?) in CPU-Z.

The settings above all seem to work just fine. However, any attempt to adjust the CPU frequency results in a system hang, or a reboot that completely ignores any setting. I'll have it set to 400MHZ and it'll reboot fine, but still report 333*9.

Oh, this is using a E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo. Running the F4 (latest) bios revision.

I have not tried the Gigabyte overclocking tool for Vista yet.

Oh, one other thing, disabling EIST in the BIOS and CPU-Z still reports the processor stepping back to 2ghz. I'm running Vista SP1

I've seen others are using the 2.00D setting. I guess it locks the RAM to the FSB somehow? Now CPU-Z shows a 333FSB, a 1:1 FSB: DRAM, and a 333MHZ DRAM frequency.

Still, any touch on the 333FSB is ignored. I even tried setting something like 334 or 335; all the way up to 350. It's all ignored and sticks at 333.

There's no need to create a new post each time you decide to add something to your original thread, instead just use the Edit button located directly under your original post.

Okay, here are the M.I.T settings. If you need the other settings, let me know.

Code:
MB Intelligent Tweaker(M.I.T.)

Robust Graphics Booster = AUTO
CPU Clock Ratio = 9X