• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How do I "jump" the FSB hole? P5N-E SLI

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

footclan

Hi.

I'm fairly new to OCing. I managed to get my e4500 2.20 to 3ghz stable no problem using 272 FSB and CPU multiplier 11.

I've been messing around and was trying to get my FSB to DRAM a 1:1 ratio. Since I knew it was stable at 3, I tried for a FSB of 400 with a CPU multi of 7 = 2.8GHZ and it didn't work.

I've heard of a FSB hole with this board, so my question is how do I get past it?
Higher the NB voltage? Right now I have it at 1.393V.

Also, what is the best tool for monitoring voltages? While my BIOS says 1.393V for NB, everest under it says NB properties it's 1.25V

For my CPU my BIOS Vcore is set to 1.27500V
Everest says 1.325V
CPU Z says 1.472V
and Speedfan says Vcore 1 = 1.39V and Vcore 2 at 3.36V

Mobo - P5N-E SLI
CPU - E4500 @ 3GHZ
CPU cooler - Scythe Infinity
Ram - Corsair XMS2 4GB (2 x 2GB) @ 800 MHZ 5-5-5-18
HDD - 500GB WD, 1 TB Seagate external

You just jump it thats all you can do. I cant oc my chip between 3.35 and 3.42 ghz. I think your board is a 680i like mine right? Seriously just bump the buss like 50mhz higher or until your stable. The sign of a fsb hole on either end is bad stability and in the middle of the hole my board wont even post so just keep rasing the fsb till you can post. Also diffrent asus bios's have diffrent holes on the same board i. I use the my bios version becuase the hole is so low on the fsb. I wouldnt even condisder clocking my cpu that low so it has no factor on me, some of there bioses have the hole in the 480-500mhz range wich is more of a pain in the a**.