• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newbie Question About Power Supplies

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Tillong

Hey Im a newbie to overclocking. I have a new AMD XP 1900 on the way. Im trying to pick out a case for it. Eventually I'd like to build some sort of water cooling system so I need something with alot a fair amount of room. I found one I like however the case comes with a 300W power supply. I know this should be sufficent for the processor I believe, but as far as overclocking the processor in the future wouldn't I need more power to increase voltage to the socket. So my overall question is will 300 watts do for my purposes, or should I keep moving on? Thanks alot for helping out a newbie.

Paul.

I'd go with a 400w Sparkle ps and a new model Antec case if I were shopping for a new system. Make sure your combined 5v and 3.3v total at least 220v.

Id go atleast 400 maybe a 450w if you are going to overclock.
I prefer PC POWER & COOLING, but they are very expensive,
and worth it! If its an epox board NO ENERMAX PS! My second
choice is antec, sparkle is a good PS as well, but I'd go
whith the antec over the sparkle.

1Time, may I point out you sayed 220v thats voltage, (v) you
are refering to watts or (w) so it would be 220w combined.

220v is also used in foreighn input power, such as Italy, 115v
is for the US & other 115v countries. If you are unsure, set it to 220v and it should be fine, but if it does not start, it might be
incorrect. Contact your local power utility and ask them how
many volts local houshold current is if you are unsure.
But do take note that the US has other volts such as 220 to
power driers & stoves. (note the irregular plug)

I've been having problems with my Enermax 350W and Epox 8KHA. What problems do you guys know of?