• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Do I need 6Mb or 8Mb DDR3 for Laptop? CS3 & Video

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tcwave

Hi Guys,

I am not a professional, but I use CS3 and do HDV editing (mostly family stuff). I just ordered a laptop with a :

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo Processor T9600 (2.80GHz)

6MB DDR3 RAM

1G Nvidia 130 Graphics card.

Running Vista 64 professional

The max this machine can take is 8Mb DDR3. It would cost me an extra $200 for them to upgrade from 6 to 8. Do you think I will need it or notice it? Is it worth me upgradeing for $200 in your mind?

Note: I am no expert, but I have read that CS3 can only use something like 3.5Mb of RAM and benefits more from a Duo as opposed to a Quad. I am typically not multitasking while I work so other than the OS, I am not won't be running tons of apps at once.

Thanks,
TCwave

Hi Guys,

I am not a professional, but I use CS3 and do HDV editing (mostly family stuff). I just ordered a laptop with a :

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo Processor T9600 (2.80GHz)

6MB DDR3 RAM

1G Nvidia 130 Graphics card.

Running Vista 64 professional

The max this machine can take is 8Mb DDR3. It would cost me an extra $200 for them to upgrade from 6 to 8. Do you think I will need it or notice it? Is it worth me upgradeing for $200 in your mind?

Note: I am no expert, but I have read that CS3 can only use something like 3.5Mb of RAM and benefits more from a Duo as opposed to a Quad. I am typically not multitasking while I work so other than the OS, I am not won't be running tons of apps at once.

Thanks,
TCwave

are we still in the 1980's? :p j/k

you mean Gb not Mb by the way.

i would say 6 gigs of ram is plenty for what you're doing.