• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Installed new CPU and PC keeps freezing...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Sp4zZ

I installed a new CPU (e8400) into my EVGA 680i motherboard today and the computer won't boot right. After it loads windows and shows my desktop it freezes. I tried flashing my BIOS and it still doesnt work. Anyone have any ideas? I'm still a little new to this :/

I installed a new CPU (e8400) into my EVGA 680i motherboard today and the computer won't boot right. After it loads windows and shows my desktop it freezes. I tried flashing my BIOS and it still doesnt work. Anyone have any ideas? I'm still a little new to this :/

Is this a computer you built, or one provided by a company?

I bought it off a friend, but it was built by Alienware. I read somewhere that they may have changed the bios settings to their own. Can that be the problem?

I bought it off a friend, but it was built by Alienware. I read somewhere that they may have changed the bios settings to their own. Can that be the problem?

Are you sure that the bios supports the processor? You might want to contact alienware and ask. Although it very well should. I wonder if the 680i was laid to rest prior to the e8400 release. Depending on your previous processor, it may have required an FSB the 680i can't handle. 333fsb is stock for an E8400. That's a lot for an nforce 780i in some cases...

after you flashed the bios and put the new cpu did you reset the cmos? as it sounds like something isnt setup right if it is freezing at the desktop.

Even if a board will support a certain model or speed of a CPU, you could still not be compatible. I have the DS3 by Gigabyte, and I needed to get a beta version bios to support me E5200. I thought the board was bad in it, but it posted and worked fine with another cpu.