• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Is 1066 at cas 4 possible with corsair dominator Twinx2x4096-8500C5D

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

velozzity

Im new at oc forums and I have recently purchased a set of 1066 patriot viper 2 x 2gb modules. They let me down in a big way given that I could'nt overclock them above 1080mhz without failing prime blend in a few seconds or run them at cas4 at 880 mhz. I had been using 4 dimms of OCZ platinum rev. 2 at 880 mhz with timings of 4-4-4-12-23 with 2.2 volts (they have e.v.p. extended volt protection which warranties them at 2.2 +/- .05 volts) I did'nt like the temps they ran and how hot they made my case so I bought the 1066 patriot modules. I am in limbo now as to what memory at 1066 will give me better performance and best timings. Any input about suggested timings and overclockability would be greatly appreciated. The rest of my setup is listed in my sig. Thanks

well even if you could get cas4 on DDR2-1066. im sure it would only be on 2x1gig kits needing about 2.3-2.4v. then you would be back worrying about heat again. you dont need tighter timings at DDR2-1066. its latency will be about the same if not lower then DDR2-800 cas4 and have higher bandwidth as well. im not sure why you think you need higher ram speed with a cpu only at 3.6ghz.