• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Striker II Extreme vs P5K-D WiFi

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

patrickrc51

Registered
I am pretty new to the Over Clocking scene but I have been sucked in completely now. So I have a P5K-D WiFi and it is kicking my Butt and every bit of info I have recieved has yeilded no progress. One said that the WiFi board gave him troubles. Not sure though. another said using 4 x 1gb sticks is an issue too and 2 x 2gb would be better.

Either way, I been checking out some boards and the Striker II Extreme looked pretty Sick. At least the Board and the numbers do. I was wnating to know if it is worth the upgrade and if I would be able to OC that any easier than my ole P5K-D/WiFi

Thanks,
Patrick

Whats wrong with SLI Boards? Whats the difference? Sorry for my lack of knowledge.
Patrick

Nothing is especially wrong with SLI boards, but SLI is just an overpriced useless gimmick until you have a GTX260-level card and still want more performance. You have a 3850. Not a single reason to get a SLI board.

One other point is the nForce VS Intel chipset debate. Intel CPUs work most stably on Intel chipsets, AMD CPUs work best on AMD chipsets, nForce boards, well, they're for Tri-SLI and... Nothing else.

And as I already mentioned, X48 chipset boards, AFAIK, OC quite much better than any nForce board.

aside from x58, nvidia chipsets generally do not do as well as intel chipset boards. you have a killer board, just ditch those kingstons..

see:

th_10284_1_122_532lo.JPG th_10287_2_122_437lo.JPG th_10288_3_122_356lo.JPG th_10289_4_122_594lo.JPG
th_10295_5_122_8lo.JPG th_10296_6_122_788lo.JPG th_10297_7_122_249lo.JPG
th_10298_8_122_121lo.JPG

edit, i normally run 4:5, the only time i ran 1:1 was when i was running 4x1gb, in this case i was useing 4x1gb gskill hz