• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Intel E5200 on Gigabyte GA-G31M-ES2L help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

LufbraDan23

Hi, new member here.
I'm new to overclocking and it'd be great if someone could help me.

I recently did a new budget build for under £200, pairing the E5200 with the G31M board. I've read that this is a very popular choice for overclockers on a budget. I've been trying to o/c for a month or so now to no avail.

Bizarrely, before i overclocked, Vista was reporting that the 2.5ghz processor was running at 1.6ghz. This is without any tweaking from me, so does anyone know why that would be?

After a bit of tweaking i've managed to get the processor to run at 2.5ghz (200FSB with a multiplier of 12.5x). So after 'overclocking' ive managed to get the CPU to run at stock speed :screwy:

The multiplier is at max and ANY tweak to the FSB speed gets auto-reset (so does that multiplier, putting me back to 1.6ghz again!).

I've read that this CPU is capable of 4ghz (i'm only asking for 3.5ghz stable) so does anyone know why this keeps happening.

It would be great if anyone with this combo could advise me on what they did to achieve a stable overclock and what speed they're at.

Thanks alot guys, ask me for any more details and i hope i've provided enough info. :)

I'm pretty sure it is showing lower than stock because of the "energy-saving" aspects. The CPU will run at lower speeds when it is not under load. My Q6600 (2.4) is overclocked to 3.0 but when there is no load, it still shows at 1.9Ghz. Download prime 95, and see what it shows when your computer is at max load. Mine shows at 3.0