• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

A new laptop for a newbie.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

_RossDvd_

Hi all,

Im a bit of a newbie when it comes to laptops and computers but Im trying to get a grasp of things, hopefully some of you will be able to help.

Basically I need a laptop that can handle Team Fortress 2 & Left for Dead. in addition I ll be playing poker on it and need it to be able to run Poker Tracker, Poker HUD software, although from what i can gather if it can do the former then it will be able to do the latter.

Other than watching iPlayer and downloading music/films thats pretty much it.

I ve spoken to a mate who uses this forum and he recommended

https://www.simplyacer.com/Acer_Aspire_6930G_449059.html

I'm pretty happy with this and have hunted around and it seems to be the best available price and spec?

The next thing is Security. I've had experiences at uni of laptops just getting swamped with spyware viruses etc and i don't really have a clue except I know all of them are bad, duh. With the above website there is a security package offered

https://www.simplyacer.com/F-Secure_2009_ANTI_VIRUS__Internet_Secu_527500.html

and also one on cd rather than usb stick

https://www.simplyacer.com/F-Secure_2009_ANTI_VIRUS__Internet_Secu_652831.html

Would these be adequate? I move some sums of money about with playing poker and am very wary of stories of accounts being hacked due to poor security, although this seems to happen more frequently on players using free wifi in hotels?

If you think there is a better package available I would be v grateful of advice.

Outside of these security packages are there any other measures i should be looking to take?

I very much appreciate all feedback.