• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Netbook for college Time!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dlavrenz

Alright so I am building a new desktop for college but my mom doesn't feel comfortable with me not having a mobile machine sooo... Netbook!

Now I am kinda thinking Ubuntu or some sort of linux as this would be more fun :thup:
Uses would be all things college school work related so writing papers or checking email or powerpoint but nothing too intensive.

No real budget in mind atm but I am hoping less then 400 maybe :shrug:

So what Netbooks would you recommend? I kinda like the Dell minis or Lenovo but I have no experience with anything this small

Thanks much!

The Dell mini's are pretty good as you can spec them up quite well, Im also a big fan of the Samsung NC10.
I've got an Asus which although reasonable is not a touch on either of these.

In terms of operating systems for netbooks I do not think you can get better than an intel sponsored Linux distro called Moblin

http://moblin.org/

i'll vouch for the MSI Wind I have. the majority of netbooks are so incredibly similar that it's difficult to really argue one over the other. i bought the wind last month for the following reasons though:

price was right - $369 CAD before tax for 9 cell version
9 cell battery gives insane battery life. 6 and 3 cell options available
built in overclocking options
above average LED backlighting
good keyboard
sturdy construction

tbh for the price of a netbook you can have a 14inish screen normal laptop that will kick the crap out of the netbook.

That being said, as long as you have a good desktop, and you can find a good deal on a netbook go for it.