• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Foxconn Blackops x48 mobo OC Help?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Sunerd

OK... so forgive the ignorance because i am very new to the oc'ing scene.

I have a Q9550 on a foxconn blackops mobo with 2x1 corsair dominator 1600mHz DDR3 and (2)HD 4890's in crossfire. I can not get the FSB over 420ish mHz. I have tried to raise voltages and even lower cpu multi and lower the ram ratio but it is like ive hit a brick wall.

So... as I am sure much more information is needed to facilitate any help.. lemme know whatcha need. I hope to hit 3.6-3.8gHz. I have h2o cooled cpu and nb. Thanks in advance, and sorry if i've posted an existing topic but any help is appreciated

So my newbness is already showing.. i have my spces in my "about me" but I will have to do some checking on how to get it to come up like a tag.. any help there would be appreciated as well. Thanks for the reply! :beer:

OK.. so there's the system =D
I am currently at 3.4gHz and I am hoping to hit somewhere in the 3.6-3.8 range
I have seen this board get up to 2000mHz FSB and I have seen this processor at 4000mHz with a sub 1.3 voltage. But I have not seen them together. So, once again thanks in advance.

X48's as well as X38's and P35's have a bit of a hard time getting the FSB up over 460FSB w/ 45nm quads and remaining completely stable. But, you should be able to get up to 450-460 w/o too much trouble. P45's can go a little higher.

If you had a dual-core you could get a good bit over 500FSB.

Post up a CPU-Z ss showing the CPU, Memory, and SPD tabs for starters. We need to make sure your RAM settings aren't holding back your attempt at getting the FSB higher.

The general strategy that I use is to work on 1 thing at a time.

[FSB - RAM - CPU]