• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Asus P6td Deluxe OC DDR3-2000

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Living Waters

Registered
Hi guys I am new to the forms and I will be building a gaming PC based on these parts,

Core i7 920 2.66Ghz, Asus PT6D Deluxe mobo, Corsair Dominator 6GB PC3-1600 (DDR3-2000) Corsair 1000 watt PS, Radeon HD 5870 Video and the CPU will be cooled by Corsair Hydro H50 CPU water cooler.

I am new to overclocking and have read lots of info on the subject. I would like to over clock the core i7 920 to 3.4 GHz I know I can go to 4 GHz but I like to play it safe and stick with a stable 3.4GHz or 3.2GHz.

My question is what would be the best settings in the BIOS for this and utilize the DDR3-2000 to its fullest.

I don’t have the parts yet but would like to get a good idea of how I would be doing it once I get these parts. I have been reading about the Core i7 920 and some say that the CPU Multiplier is locked. I have downloaded a calculator (NehalemCalc) that gives me the settings I would need to achieve the full DDR3 buss speeds running at 2000MHz here is the calculations… Bclock 200, CPU Multi 17, QPI Multi 18, Uncore Multi 20, Mem Multi 10 …. This would give me CPU clock of 3400, QPI 3600, Un Core clock 4000, Mem clock DDR3-2000

My question to this is, if the CPU Multi is locked how would I set it to get DDR3-2000 and overclocked CPU speed at 3.4GHz? or 3.2GHz? would I have to adjust voltages? Like I said before I don’t have the Asus Pt6D Deluxe board yet so I would not know what the BIOS would look like, if anyone has this board or any idea please post up some simple instructions. Thank you for all the information that you guys have on the forms they really help.