• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

BSOD while overclocking Q9550

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Milkeh

Hey guys I'm pretty new to overclocking and I'm not quite sure if this is the right section I should be posting in. If not then please feel free to move it.

First of all I am currently running:

Windows 7 x64
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
ASUS P5Q Motherboard
Corsair XMS2 DDR2 4GB (2x2GB)
tx-750w Corsair PSU

I am currently at my aim of about 4GHz but keep getting blue screen while running Prime95 for a couple minutes with the returned error.

Code:
Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name:	BlueScreen
  OS Version:	6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
  Locale ID:	3081

Additional information about the problem:
  BCCode:	124
  BCP1:	0000000000000000
  BCP2:	FFFFFA80055E8028
  BCP3:	00000000B2000040
  BCP4:	0000000000000800
  OS Version:	6_1_7600
  Service Pack:	0_0
  Product:	256_1

My current settings are:

Multiplier: 8.5
FSB Speed: 470
vCore: 1.34v
DRAM: 2.1v
NB: 1.26v
SB: 1.1v

I'm not quite sure why but in CPU-Z it is telling me that I am still running everything at stock and vCore at 1.32v. While stressing I am only getting around 56C so I don't think that I'm overheating.

Any ideas?

I assume the DRAM frequency is set to 940MHz w/ timings set to 5-5-5-15-2T (all sub-timings on AUTO)? Your voltages look good for a FSB of 470MHz, but one you didn't list is FSB Termination Voltage (VTT), which at that frequency should be about 1.26V. Also set...

Code:
CPU GTL Reference: Auto
CPU PLL Voltage: Auto
LLC: Enabled
CPU Spread Spectrum: Disabled
PCIE Spread Spectrum: Disabled
CPU Clock Skew: Auto
NB Clock Skew: Auto
CPU Margin Enhancement: Compatible

... and post pic's of CPU-Z open to the CPU, Memory, and SPD tabs.

Hey thanks a lot for your reply.