• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Is it worth it to replace x58 e760 classified NB/SB thermal compound?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Zonnza

So soon enough Ill be purchasing and installing a new CPU cooler in my PC, but I was wondering if it may also be worth it at the same time to replace the thermal compound on the northbridge and southbridge of my mobo.

I plan to get some thermal paste, looks like I may get arctic silver 5 or oczfreeze or something thats good.

Do u guys think it is worth the time to replace the thermal compound on the NB/SB chips with a different thermalpaste?

Also if there any thermal paste you guys would recommend? Im new to this so I don't really know what pastes are good, so anything would be good for a recommendation.

Will you be OCing? How much? Since you're getting a Classy, I sure hope you're planning to OC, but even if you do, there will be no practical bennefit in re-applying mobo TIM. But, if it makes you feel better, it doesn't hurt either.

AS5 is the gold standard, and still as good as most of the new stuff...that's what I use for air/water cooling.

Personally I always replace the TIM on my motherboard and GPU as soon as I test it's not DOA. Will it have any real benefit, probably not but i'm sure it will reduce temps some and running cooler is never bad.

Some people don't like AS5 for the NB/SB as it is slightly capacitive and can cause problems it it touches any traces ect (personally I've always used AS5, just been careful with it). If this worries you you can grab some artic cooling MX-2 which is non conductive and non capacitive and > or = to AS5.