• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

CPU Upgrade

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

OC_Nubie

Registered
Hi everyone,
I am a newbie who is doing his first upgrade. I want to go from a Core 2 Duo to a Core 2 Quad. I have a stock Dell that from my research has a mobo/chipset that can be upgraded from a Core 2 Duo to a Core 2 Quad. I would like to put at least a Q8300 or a Q9400 in it. I was also thinking about moving my memory up to it’s max using some G.SKILL 4GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Quad Channel Kit Desktop Memory. Thanks for all of your help!
Here is my Vostro:
Dell Vostro (#1)
Manufacturer: Dell Inc. (Dell) Product: 0CU409
Intel Core 2 Duo Internal Specification:
Intel(R) Core(TM) 2 Duo CPU E6550 @ 2.33GHz
Model Number: E6550 Conroe
Revision: G0
Technology: 0.065µ
CPU ID: 6.F.B
CPU ID Ex: 6.F.B
Socket: 775 Supported Speed: 4000 MHz (or more)
Supported Voltage: 1.3V
DDR2-SDRAM PC2-5300 (333 MHz) - [DDR2-666]
DIMM1 (RAS 0, RAS 1): 1024 (Double Bank)
DIMM2 (RAS 2, RAS 3): 1024 (Double Bank)
DIMM3 (RAS 4, RAS 5): 1024 (Double Bank)
DIMM4 (RAS 6, RAS 7): 1024 (Double Bank)
Manufacturer : ATI Technologies Model : ATI Radeon HD 3400 Series Bus Type : PCI-Express Texture Memory : 1012 MB Processor : ATI Radeon Graphics Processor (0x95C5) Converter : Internal DAC(400MHz) Refresh Rate (min/max) : 56/75 Hz GPU Information : Number of GPU : 1 Processor : RV620 HD Support : Yes Bus : 0-bit Memory Type : 512 MB DDR GPU Frequency : 600 MHz - [initial : 600 MHz] Memory Frequency GPU : 400 MHz - [initial : 400 MHz] DirectX Support : 10.0 Pixel Shader Version : 3.0
:comp:

if youre gonna get a brand new cpu id get none less than a q9400 (personally)
if you do some more research and get the gist of the levels of how good cpus are