• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need some advice / Direction for my OC PLEASE!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

cleaner450

I have the ASROCK P45X3 and 4 GB of ddr3 1600 with a 2.4 quad Q6600. I am trying to get things to run stable but I want to hear what other with more experience with this board / OCing might say about voltages and clock speeds. It seems like the faster the processor speed the lower I have to go with the memory

I am at 3.6 right now at 1.6v with idle temps at low 30's. What is the best advice to clock things with the hardware I have. I am still new at this and your help is greatly apperciated! Can I keep my memory at 1600 speed?

well I had it at 8 8 8 then auto allt he way down from there.

The timing un the memory says 8 8 8. but I really am not sure where to put it.

Wow... 1.6v on that is a lot for 24/7 operation regardless of temps. Wow. I wouldnt go over 1.45 for 24/7 on that chip personally.

Check out the o/c guide in my signature. That should help 'knock the noob' off you as I like to say for overclocking.

But to directly answer your question. It depends on the speed of the memory/your FSB/mem multi you have it on. Post up CPUz screen and CPUz memory tab and SPD tab please!

Welcome!

Tell me your thoughts and or things that I can try to make this better.. I wanted my memory to run at 1600.? Can I get it there?

It is DDR3 1600 so I do not know what I am doing or not doing right. Attached a screenshot

Attachments

• cpuz q6600.jpg
    cpuz q6600.jpg
    227.8 KB · Views: 149
To get the mem to 1600MHz, you'll want to start with some more normal timings...right now it's at 7-10-10-24-78 2T...try to change it to 9-9-9-27-88 2T and make sure you're giving the mem 1.8V.