• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Upgrade problem with QX9650 on P5K-VM

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

annxprop

Registered
Hi,
I have been using this MB for for a couple of years with OCed E4500 and recently decided to upgrade to QX9650. After upgrading BIOS to 1001 I replaced the CPU with the stock Intel fan. My memory is two sticks of OCZ2P800R22GK (1GB, DDR2-800). That system wouldn't boot (no post). I removed all peripherals except LCD and keyboard, left only one memory stick, cleared CMOS, rebooted many times but cannot get it to boot (no beep, no BIOS screen). Curiously, if I remove all memory it starts beeping as expected but of course I can't run BIOS without memory. So I wonder if it is a memory compat issue. Has anyone had a similar problem with this MB or memory? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers

try the e4500 with the same ram to see if you get post if you do is the mb is not compatible with the QX9650

There's only C0 and C1 revisions of the QX9650, the Q9650 is E0.

Since you have BIOS 0602 or later, you should be fine if your chip is C0.

Last edited:
For PSU I have Corsair VX450W. Re the revision I don't if it is C0 or C1. How do I find out?

For PSU I have Corsair VX450W. Re the revision I don't if it is C0 or C1. How do I find out?

Download CPU-Z it gives you info on your CPU, Mobo, RAM, and GPU.

Depending on the rest of your system, that PSU might be cutting it close with +12v @ 33.

Don't I need to boot the system to run CPU-Z? Chicken and egg problem.

There is an ID on the front of the CPU (very small characters). Is there a way to find out the rev nr based on that ID?

Re PSU according this it draws less power than Core 2 Duo (160W at idle).

Duh..:bang head lol

On the CPU there will be a Spec number, either SLAN3 (C0) or SLAWN (C1).