• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Water Cooling Advise

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
Hello All!!,

I am new to water cooling and have been thinking about it for a very long time. I am ready to take the dive and try it out, so I have done some research and came up with some parts that I like from Swiftech. Looking at my sig what would you do. Here is what I have found so far....

CPU - Apogee GTZ or XT (Which is best)
VGA - Epsilon HD5970 AC
Chipset - MCW-NBMAX
Pump - MCP655 w/spd controller

I know there are a few other things that are needed and that is were I need help. Like hoses, clamps, fittings and most of all res, fluid and maybe a chiller. Thank You All in Advanced that can help....

\\joecastle

I think for people to give advise, they are going to need to know how much you are willing to spend. Be realistic! I thought I set aside more than enough for a cooling system and wound up spending twice as I originally alotted.

Pretty solid start. You'll need a radiator, guess what you called a chiller.

Swiftech makes some nice rads. They also have one with a built in pump and resiviuor.
Look at the top of this forum for a nice sticky.

Take a look at this link I wrote, it has many good guides etc.
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/253958-29-watercooling-guide

There are more than a few links in there that I'm sure you will be bookmarking, hint.

You got to have a good idea of the heatload your planning to have to cool. So some research and understanding is gonna be required.

xt > gtz

youll need a rad! triple 120 fan sized one for all that. personally, i refuse to buy gpu blocks that only fit one kind/generation of card. the cost is just too high for me. try things without the gpu first and see how you get on with it. can always add later.