• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

BSOD

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dnd0ps

I had this problem since I upgraded to Windows 7 64 Ultimate.
My screen would hang randomly , if there's music or sound it would replay its last second over and over again. nothing will then work, not even alt+ctrl+del.
The last time I had it I decided to wait abit and see what would happen, it BSOD'ed and said something about un-executable memory.
My rigs an old Core 2 quad Q6600 OC'ed to 3.0 Ghz, the RAM's are a pair of kingston hyper X ddr2. Can anyone help?

Hi!

I'm new to overclocking myself and have started to see crashes and bsod's as a result of that.

Have you tried un-overclocking your CPU to see whether it boots?

I'd set the bios back to defaults and try that to see what you can eliminate as the cause.

Also, it won't help me but it's probably worth posting your motherboard details and also your ram timings and voltage (and how many gigs the sticks are too)

A memory error could be due to you having the wrong voltage or settings in the bios so check that.

Also I think that 32bit windows only acknowledges 3gig of ram, whereas 64 can use a lot more.

If you've only just gone to 64bit maybe that's got something to do with it?

Sorry I can't help anymore, but if you give more info then hopefully someone else will be able to help you out : )

Indeed we need alot more info of your specs:

Cpu / Cooling
Motherboard
Ram
Power supply

The specs you posted is pretty general. Need to be more specific.

Btw, Welcome to O/C Forums :welcome:

I did set my mobo back to default, don't get the wrong idea but my rig boots just fine, even under OC circumstances it just randomly hangs.
I'm runnin an Asus P5ND system,
the RAM is a pair of Kingston KHX6400D2/1G DDR2-800 1 gb sticks,