• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My First Water Cooling Build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TheNewITGuy

Hello all,
This is my first time posting in this forum and is also my first water cooling build. I have listed my anticipated setup and parts below. I only plan on including the CPU in the loop for now. I have a few questions that I think you fine folks can help me with.

System Specs are here:
COOLER MASTER Centurion 590 RC-590-KKN1-GP Black ATX Mid Tower Case
ASUS P6X58D Premium LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Motherboard
SAPPHIRE 100281-3SR Radeon HD 5870 (Cypress XT) 1GB 256-bit GPU
XIGMATEK MC NRP-MC751 750W ATX12V Ver.2.2 PSU
Intel Core i7-930 Bloomfield 2.8GHz CPU
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3 1600 RAM

The parts I will be using are:
Swiftech MCP655 12 VDC Pump
Swiftech MCR320-QP Quiet Power radiator
Scythe S-Flex 120mm fans most likely
Swiftech APOGEE-XT Extreme Performance CPU Waterblock
Swiftech MCRES-MICRO Rev2 Reservoir

Do these parts reflect a quality water cooling setup? I did alot of homework to select parts that had good reviews.

What size hose should I use? I am slightly confused because the pump has 1/2" barbs, but is that ID or OD?

Am I correct in assuming that I can use 1/4" to 1/2" compression fittings on the block, reservoir and rad? They both use 1/4" BSPP hookups.

Can I use compression fittings with the pump? It looks like I have to use clamps (I feel more confident with compression fittings and I dont mind paying a little more for them).

I may add a second graphics card later for Crossfire, would this pump handle it or should I use another loop for them?

I planned on running it Res - pump - CPU - Rad - Res Is this a good layout?

Any other advice you may have for a n00b such as myself is appreciated.

Thanks in advance!