• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need some help w/first WC build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Maskedmenace

Registered
Hey guys...I'm new here, long time reader and very impressed at some of the work you guys have done.

I'm a network tech for Alienware (rawrrrr the enemy, I know :eh?:) and I've never gotten into WC but, figured I'd try my hand.

As a tech Evga hooked me up with some lmtd edition swag...My current build is as follows:

Qx9650
780Sli FTW lmtd
2x Evga 280ssc
8g 1066 Muschkin Ascent
2x WD 300g Raid 0 Raptor
1x WD Caviar Black
Ultra X4 1050w Modular psu
Alienware Lmtd Case

I realize it's not the latest and greatest but, it was mostly free so, I'm not about to start complaining.

I've done the benching and the math...2nd gen I7's aren't making a retail release for the next 9 months so, it's more cost effective for me to stay with this build, especially since I'm pushing about a 10-15% performance decrease in comparison to the new I7's. With I9's being rumored Q3//Q4//Q1 as well, it just makes sense for me to rock this until next season or at least Black Friday.

All that being said, I wanted to use this rig to experiment with WC and I've done a fairly good bit of research.

My question is...A lot of the brands, seem to have serious sways in pos/negative reviews and I'm stuck in the median it seems. I want something moderately easy, not too expensive...obviously, something that will do it's job.

Is it in my best interest to pick around or, would I be best off just going for a kit from DD and the like?

Thanks guys, I welcome your opinions.

Last edited:
:welcome: to the Forums

well your best option ultimately is to know and understand all that can be offerd.