• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

GTX480 Danger Den Blocks

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jamsde

Registered
Thought you all might appreciate these, just got em in today. Too bad the cards won't be in for another two weeks tho!

:)

Attachments

• DD_480_blocks.jpg
    DD_480_blocks.jpg
    101.3 KB · Views: 445
well you just make sure you remember to stop having fun and tell us how you went on at some point :sly: #Laughs#

before, during and after for top score :thup:

Cheers for the peak :)

Thanks! hehe :) I can do some before blocking and after blocking comparisons if anyone is interested. I'm new to the whole benching scheme, what sw tools would I need?

we really, really would appreciate it if you could put it through some tests :clap:

Evga precision gives you GPU load, Clocks and temps :thup:

furmark provides some stressing... wouldnt go to crazy with this software.

and whatever games or demos.

just need to plan some tests. record results, then block them.... rinse & repeat :thup:

:)

I'll do it man! ETA on the cards was listed as delivered to me between May 5th and June 3rd... GAHH I hope it's more like May and not June! FYI I ordered the superclocked EVGA version of the GTX 480's... I'll post more as i get more info and coordinate with you :)

Guys these blocks are 3.1lb each! I've got a big problem... how do control the weight distribution and prevent damage the PCI slots and or cards??
My motherboard is vertical! (so weight will be direcly on card at PCI slot...)
Anyone have ideas? Will I need to fabricate a custom aluminum brace to hold these heavy blocks up? (or maybe just the bottom one, i bought the metal SLI fittings) ... something like a custom card stand? LOL... a jack stand for SLI blocks? LOL sounds nutz huh?
Any ideas on how to handle this?
Thanks!
Jon