• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Opinions on Water Cooling Setup

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tahosa

So I am still a water cooling newb, but I have done my homework and come up with a couple setups for my computer.

I am currently running:

Core i7 920 at stock (2.66GHz)
2 MSI GTX260OCv4 (55nm)
ASUS P6T with the x58 chipset
in a Silverstone TJ07 case.

I want to cool at least my CPU, and potentially one of my GPUs with water. I have also been looking into overclocking my CPU to get a little more out of it. This means I am looking at a CPU only loop, as well as a CPU / GPU loop. I have been looking at parts and have put together a couple loops which could be good. I am looking at using 3/8" tubing and fittings for everything.

Loop 1: CPU Only
CPU block - Swiftech Apogee XT ($80) Swiftech
Pump - Swiftech MCP355 ($70) Newegg
Resevoir - EK Spin ($70) Sidewinder Computers

Loop 2: CPU / GPU
Same CPU block, pump, radiator, and res
GPU setup 1 - Swiftech Komodo GTX275-P897 ($120) Newegg

GPU setup 2 - Swiftech MCW60-R ($35+$5 for mounting brackets) Newegg
Plus stick on heatsinks for mosfets, memory, etc. ($15-$20)

Note: the prices I have listed are a little exaggerated for budgeting purposes.

I am a little dubious of dropping $130 on a full cover block for my GPU when I could save a bunch by going with passive cooling on the rest of the chips. I can also get a full cover heatsink for my graphics card for about $30 instead of the stick on ones. Also, the radiator listed is a 120.2, which I am not sure will kill the heat from a CPU / GPU combo. Would I need a 120.3 or .4 instead?

I have attached a more detailed breakdown. Do these look like good loops, and does anyone have recommendations?

Thanks

Attachments

• Water cooling.xls
    27.5 KB · Views: 114