• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New to watercooling, potential build, have many questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Zithras

Registered
So...I'm planning to put together a REALLY nice desktop for myself to replace an aging and failing 5 year old laptop currently being used as a desktop hooked up to an extensive support array of peripherals and external drives (which are also driving me nuts, but anyway...)

I'm new to watercooling, and had several questions. I'm new to watercooling, and the forums have been a wonderful resource. I still have several questions however, and would appreciate any help offered.

Anyways, before the questions, here's my tentative build list. Note that this is a list of what will eventually (ideally) be in the computer. I may not buy all of it now (for example, I'll likely buy 1 video card/monitor right now, then the 2 others in a few months as the price drops), but for the sake of argument, assume I'm going to buy everything now (which may happen if I'm lucky anyway), so it all has to fit It's been 5 years since my last computer purchase for myself, and probably more like 8 since my last serious computer build for myself (I build for others all the time), so price isn't really a huge issue here, as you can see (although, NO, I am not really interested in trying to cram in 4 $1500 Peltier coolers for everything - let's stick to air and water here)

Processor: 980X overclocked (watercooled)

MB: Rampage III Extreme
PSU: Corsair CMPSU-1000HX 1000W
Ram: 2xG.Skill Trident 6GB (3x2GB) DDR32000 Model F3016000CL9T-6GBTD
Video Card: 3xEVGA 012-P3-1472-AR GeForce GTX 470 (Fermi) SuperClocked (2x SLI on monitors 1-2, 1xthird monitor; performance increase to the 480s is minimal for the extra $200, so 470s work; not to mention they're easier to find)